Wood-be winners

Published Thursday, 13th December 2018 in SAC Consulting news

The annual awards celebrate Scotland’s finest woods
The annual awards celebrate Scotland’s finest woods

Forestry experts from SAC Consulting are joining the annual celebration of the country’s most inspiring woods.

Submissions are now open for Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards 2019, with the commercial arm of SRUC sponsoring the Farm Woodland Award for the next three years. 

A special prize to celebrate 100 years since the 1919 Forestry Act is among the highlights of the 2019 competition.

Angela Douglas, Executive Director of Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards, said: “We are delighted to have two new awards for 2019 – including the one-off centenary prize – to celebrate woodland created during the past 100 years that has evolved through careful and skilled management, has resilience to face the future and justifies the title of one of Scotland’s finest woods.
“We are very pleased to build on the successful introduction of the Farm Woodland Award, which attracted a very high standard of entries in 2018.

“We are so grateful to SAC Consulting and Scottish Woodlands and also to the Royal Highland & Agricultural Society of Scotland for their generous support.”

Malcolm Young, Senior Forestry Consultant at SAC Consulting, said: “The 2018 competition showed real quality in farm woodland and it’s clear there are a lot of other great examples out there. We look forward to finding out about them and rewarding them in 2019.”

The 2018 winners were spread from Kirkcudbright in the south-west to Braemar in the north-east and Broughton and Melrose in the south-east to Argyll in the North-West.
The 2019 winners will be honoured at the annual Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards ceremony at the Royal Highland Show on 21 June. 
Entries must be submitted by 31 March. For the full list of awards, criteria and entry forms, visit www.sfwa.co.uk

More articles in the news archive.

Cookie Settings